So last night was a night where the planets aligned and I had basically committed myself before going out that I would stay out all night.
It all started at l'hotel de ville where I went to meet with some friends to watch the rugby match on some sort of huge screen. Little did I know that the entire population of Paris was planning on doing the same thing and that my phone was going to randomly decide to stop working just when I needed it most.
So with my phone not working, I watched the first half of the rugby match (France vs. New Zealand, the best team in the world, basically) by myself, in a mob of thousands of people. Towards the end of the first half, my phone started working so I got in touch with my friends and went on a mission to try and find them. During my search I was basically in the middle of a mob so tightly packed that I literally was stuck- it was not possible to move. The mob was swaying back and forth from all the pushing and I though that everyone might fall over at any point in time, but we didn't, and I was happy. The tension finally eased and I hopped over a small fence that left me in area that facilitated far easier movement and I finally found my friends.
We watched the rest of the game and France actually won with a pretty miraculous, underdog, comeback victory. It was one for the record books. Needless to say, "allez les blues" could be heard for miles along with the French national anthem. On a side note, the french sing seven nation army kind of like the ole ole chant people sing at soccer games. I found that highly amusing.
Next we head over to the louvre where the bulk of the Nuit Blanche festivities were going on. (People were screaming, honking and cheering in the metro and on the streets, for a solid hour after the game). We checked out the Louvre, Palais Royale, Jardin de Tuilleries (sorry, sp). All were pretty cool, tons of people were walking everywhere (during nuit blanche a collection of museums are open all night long and there are a bunch of cool things to see between the museums). So we checked out a bunch of that stuff when I received a call from this girl in my class who was really drunk and by herself, but still wanted to go out. So we met up with her and tried to find something to do, but it was already late and everything still open was heinously expensive. So we basically walked for a while, with people peeling off heading home.
Eventually there were three of us left, me another guy who had been my class the first week and this girl who was really drunk. As it turns out she didn't know where her cousin's apartment was where she was supposed to be spending the night. (She knew where it was in relation to a metro stop, but she didn't know where the stop was). Being the gentleman I am, I offered to figure it out, and walk her home. Note that I had already planned on staying out really late. We arrived at her cousin's apartment after some shockingly efficient navigating by yours truly relatively quickly. Her cousin however doesn't answer when she rings the bell or knocks. So I spent a couple of hours trying to sleep on the cold apartment hallway floor, waiting for her to sober up and for the metros to start running so she could get to her actual home. At about 6 a French neighbor arrived after a night out and seemed slightly confused to see us in the hallway trying to sleep. If there's ever a time when it's hard to speak French, it's when you've been awoken, in the middle of a random hallway somewhere working on very, very little sleep. Everyone was confused and he went into his room. The girl and I decided to head out and she took the metro home.
I went for my metro home, but in transferring, ran into these two American girls. At this point it was nearly 7 o'clock and I was pretty much giddy with exhaustion and they were too. Naturally we hit it off immediately. Anyone in Paris who speaks English is a best friend and when your extremely tired, the law is multiplied tenfold. As it turns out, one was studying in Nice and the other was studying in London. They had been roommates in college and were meeting up for one night in Paris (haha, get it?). Literally, they had arrived Saturday at 4pm, stayed up all night for Nuit Blanche and were returning to their respective cities at 11ish.
So, the three of us took an extremely curious walk through Paris laughing at just about anything that could be deemed remotely funny. We were going to try and find La Duree (sorry again, sp) for macaroons which are rumored to be incredible. Unfortunately we didn't know exactly where (and by that I mean, we had no clue whatsoever) the store was, so we nixed that idea and head off in search of some coffee. We sat down had some coffee and then started going towards a metro when sure enough, what do we see? LA DUREE! So we obviously enter, buy some macaroons and then finish our journey to the metro station before going our separate ways. (The macaroons are that good, in case you were curious). Our parting was quite sad because while we had known each other for merely a few hours, we had shared a pretty awesome common experience and had nearly instantly become best friends.
It was incredibly random, and the fact that I joined them on their strange stroll through Paris probably should have awkward, but it wasn't probably on account of our fatigue.
Anyway, I had promised a story for Nuit Blanche and I feel I've delivered. If this account has been incoherent/not interesting it is merely because I'm writing on basically no sleep and I'm immersed in French so I can't speak English anymore anyway.
Maybe I'll elaborate more later... who knows. But I think I'm going to go back to sleep.
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
1 comment:
chaz what a night big guy. great descriptions, and shut up about losing your english cause you're writing superbly. every time you mention you're getting immersed in french i smile. french helped me out last night when the only guy who had a stack of clean cups at the party was french. we chatted, and i got hooked up with 20 or so cups to start a ruit game.
keep it too real as you been doin.
much love,
danny
Post a Comment